Episcopal Diocese of Virginia
The Episcopal Church »  |  The Diocese of Virginia

Our Diocese


The Diocese of Virginia


St. Mary’s is located in the Fredericksburg Region of the Diocese of Virginia. The Diocese of Virginia, organized in May 1785, was one of nine dioceses represented at the first General Convention in September 1785. Today, the Diocese of Virginia is one of the largest in the Episcopal Church by active membership with over 80,000 members. The diocesan offices are located in Richmond. The Rt. Rev. Shannon Sherwood Johnston, who was elected and consecrated in 2007, began his ministry as the 13th Bishop of Virginia on October 1, 2009. He is joined in his Episcopal ministry by the Rt. Rev. Susan E. Goff, Bishop Suffragan, who was consecrated on July 28, 2012. In January of 2011, the Rt. Rev. Edwin "Ted"  Gulick, retired bishop of Kentucky, began serving our diocese as Assistant Bishop. The bishops serve the Diocese well and work with congregations in their ministry, helping them to pursue the diocesan priorities: youth and young adult ministry, strengthening our congregations, evangelism and proclamation, multicultural and ethnic ministries, and mission beyond ourselves. For more information about the Diocese of Virginia, visit www.thediocese.net.